Yu-Chieh Lin

Taiwan | 1999

PIANO 2023: Competitor


Yu-Chieh Lin is a Taiwanese  pianist born in 1999. He obtained the Bachelor of Music degree at the Royal College of Music London in 2021, studying piano with professor Norma Fisher and Jane Chapman on the harpsichord as a second study. Yu-Chieh is currently pursuing his Master degree at Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London, studying with professor Ronan O’Hora, Noriko Ogawa and Charles Owen. At the age of 10, he decided to pursue a career as a professional musician, moving to Russia to study at the Gnessin Special School of Music in Moscow with Mikhail Khokhlov from 2009-2017. He graduated from Gnessin School in 2017. Since the age of 12 he has regularly perform in countries including Spain, Germany, Austria, Poland, Latvia, Italy, UK, Taiwan and Russia. He has performed in concert venues such as The Palau de la Música Catalana Barcelona, Rachmaninoff Hall of The Moscow Conservatory, Mozarteum Solitar Hall Salzburg, Milton Court Concert Hall London. Yu-Chieh has performed with orchestras including the Academy of Ancient Music (UK), Royal Tunbridge Wells Symphony Orchestra (UK), RCM Symphony Orchestra (UK), Gnessin School Symphony Orchestra (Russia). He played for masters in masterclasses such as Dmitri Alexeev, Michel Beroff, Alexander Romanovsky, Vanessa Latarche, Sofya Gulyak, Dina Parakhina, Gabriel Kwok and Kyoko Hashimoto. Yu-Chieh has won over 10 top prizes in International competitions, including the 9th International Competition of Slavic Music, 5th international Wanda Landowska Harpsichord Competition in Italy, Laureate of the Moscow Scriabin Scholar Competition, The third prize at the 7th Riga International Piano Competition. He recently won the 2nd prize at the Bromsgrove International Musicians Competition in UK.



First round

Beethoven: Piano Sonata op.31 n.1
Liszt: Transcendental étude in F minor n.10

Second round

Schumann: Humoreske op.20
Rachmaninoff: Sonata n. 2 op. 36


Haydn: Piano Sonata in C, Hob 48
Scriabin: Valse op. 38
Prokofiev: Piano Sonata n.8 op.84


Schumann: Piano Concerto in A Minor op.54