Zihao Wu

China | 1997

PIANO 2023: Competitor


Zihao Wu entered the Central Conservatory of Music, Piano Academy at Gulangyu at the age of eleven. While in school, he was the recipient of many scholarships Including the YAMAHA Scholarship, and performed on China Central Television nationwide in 2012 and 2016. In 2017, Mr. Wu entered the Cleveland Institute of Music as a student of Dr. Daniel Shapiro. Mr. Wu entered the master’s degree program at The Juilliard School in 2021, as a student of leading concert pianist Mr. Sergei Babayan. Now, Zihao is continuing to work with him for artist diploma in Meadows School of the Arts in Texas. At age fourteen, he gave a performance tour in Austria, Germany, France, and Poland, and made his orchestra l debut with the Bydgoszcz Symphony Orchestra in Poland. Then, he starts to play with many major orchestras in China. He has performed as a soloist with Xiamen Philharmonic orchestral at the Fujian Opera house in 2017, Qingdao Philharmonic orchestral at the Shandong Art center in 2019, and so on. His first solo recital debut was at age thirteen. At age sixteen he got engagements to concertized in Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou, and Qingdao, among other major cities of China, performing the complete 24 Chopin Etudes, Op.10 and Op. 25. Mr. Wu was awarded a full scholarship to the 2019 Pianofest in the Hamptons NY, where he was an audience favorite. Engagements followed in New York, Los Angeles, New Orleans, and Miami. Mr. Wu was also a prizewinner in several national and international competitions such as Hongkong Chopin competition, YAMAHA Scholarship competition. Mr.Wu receive The Sadie Zellen Piano Prize in 2021.



First round

Beethoven: Piano Sonata op. 109
Chopin: Rondo à la mazur in F major op. 5

Second round

Bach-Busoni: Chaconne in D minor
Schumann: Abegg Variations op. 1
Stravinsky: Three movements from Petrushka


Scriabin: Fantasy in b minor op. 28
Debussy: Suite Bergamasque
Chopin: Mazurka op.7 n. 1 in B flat major
Liszt: Réminiscences de Don Juan S. 418


Chopin: Piano Concerto n.1 in E minor op. 11