Airi Katada

Conc ITA 2021
About This Project

Airi Katada


29 y.o.


Airi Katada was born in Kanagawa in 1992 and began studying the piano at the age of 3. She has won numerous international piano competitions, including; Finalist Prize – 21st Jose Iturbi International Piano Competition(Valencia 2021) 5th Prize – 5th International Music Competition SENDAI (Japan 2013) Semifinalist – The 58th International Maria Canals Music Competition (Barcelona 2012) 2nd Stage Diproma – The 16th International Chopin Piano Competition. (Warsaw 2010) 1st Prize – Scriabin 6th International Piano Competition. (Paris 2006) 2nd Prize – A.D. Artobolevskaya International Competition in Moscow for Young Pianists (Moscow 2005) 3rd prize – “A step towards the championship International competition for young pianists (St. Petersburg 2003) She has received numerous solo evenings and music festivals in Japan, Germany, Poland, France and Austria. At the age of 5 she made her orchestral debut with the Tokyo New City Phillharmony Orchestra under the baton of Antoni Wit in Japan. She made her orchestral debut outside of Japan at the age of 9 with the Glinka Cappella National Orchestra in St. Petersburg and the National Orchestra in Poland under the direction of Roland Baber at the age of 11. Graduated from Tokyo College of Music, studied with Prof. Minoru Nojima, Prof. Katsunori Ishii and Prof. Reiko Kikuchi. She is doing her BA at the Tokyo College of Music – special course for piano performance “Excellence” with a scholarship. Since 2015 she has been studying at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna with Prof. Anna Malikova, Prof. Roland Keller and Prof. Jasminka Stan?ul. During her studies, she received a scholarship from the Yamaha Music Foundation, Anny Felbermayer Fund and Sylff Scholarship.


Envisaged programme


First round

L. van Beethoven: Piano Sonata No.30 in E Major, Op.109

F. Chopin: Barcarolle in F-Sharp Major, Op.60


Second round

D. Scarlatti: Piano Sonata in E Major K.380

D. Scarlatti: Piano Sonata in G Major K.427

M. Ravel: Sonatine

E. Granados: Goyescas – “Los majos enamorados” Part I No.4 Quejas o la maja y el ruisenor

F. Chopin: Grande polonaise brillante précédée d’un andante spianato Es-Dur Op.22



F. J. Haydn: Piano Sonata in C Major Hob. XVI/50

F. Schubert: Impromptus Op.90-3

R. Schumann: Fantasiestücke, Op. 12



L. van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.4 in G Major, Op.58