Yumeka Nakagawa

Concorrenti ammessi
About This Project

Yumeka Nakagawa


18 y.o.


Yumeka Nakagawa was born in 2001 in Düsseldorf. From 2012 to 2018, she was a young student of the Robert Schumann Hochschule studying with Prof. Barbara Szczepanska and she is currently a student of Prof. William Fong.

Yumeka is already prize winner of numerous piano competitions such as International Steinway competition in Hamburg, International Hans von Bülow competition in Meiningen and International Rachmaninov Piano Competition in Frankfurt. In 2014 she won the second prize at the 4th International Franz Liszt Competition in Weimar. In 2015 she received a scholarship from “Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben” and “Carl Bechstein Stiftung”.In 2018 she won the 1st prize at the 5th International Jenö-Takacs competition in Austria and recently  the 1st prize at the 2nd International Robert Schumann competition in Düsseldorf.

As a soloist, she has already performed W. A. Mozart, J. Haydn, L. van Beethoven and F. Mendelssohn concertos with the Sinfonietta Köln under the direction of Cornelius Frowein.


Envisaged programme


First round

L. van Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 18 in E flat major, Op. 31 No. 3

F. Liszt: Transcendental étude no. 5 in B flat major S. 139 “Feux Follets”


Second round

F. Liszt: Piano Sonata in B minor S. 178

M. Ravel: La Valse



W.A. Mozart: Piano Sonata No. 7 in C major, K. 309

F. Liszt: Réminiscences de Don Juan S. 418

S. Prokofiev: Piano Sonata No. 7 in Bflat  major, Op. 83 (“The Stalingrad”)



F. Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-flat major, S. 124